Daily Devotions with Spurgeon: 21st September

Let Trials Bless

Knowing that tribulation worketh patience. (Romans 5:3)

This is a promise in essence; we have need of patience, and here we see the way of getting it. It is only by enduring that we learn to endure. You could not learn patience without trouble. Is it not worth while to suffer tribulation for the sake of gaining a mind which quietly acquiesces to all the will of God?

Tribulation in itself works petulance, unbelief, and rebellion. It is only by the sacred alchemy of grace that it is made to work in us patience. We do not thresh the wheat to lay the dust: yet the flail of tribulation does this upon God’s floor.

Oh, for grace to let my trials bless me! Why should I wish to stay their gracious operation? Lord, I ask Thee to remove my affliction, but I beseech Thee ten times more to remove my impatience. Precious Lord Jesus, with Thy cross engrave the image of Thy patience on my heart.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

