Daily Devotions with Spurgeon: 30th August

Solace, Security, Satisfaction

Although my house is not so with God; yet he has made with me an everlasting covenant, ordered in all things and secure. For this is all my salvation and all my desire; will he not make it increase? (2 Samuel 23:5)

These are David’ words, but they may be mine today. Here is a sigh: things are not with me as I could wish; there are trials, cares, and sins. These make the pillow hard.

Here is a solace, “He has made with me an everlasting covenant.” Jehovah has pledged Himself to me, and sealed the compact with the blood of Jesus. I am bound to my God, and my God to me.

This brings into prominence a security, since this covenant is everlasting, well ordered, and sure. There is nothing to fear from the lapse of time, or the natural uncertainty of things. The covenant is a rocky foundation to build on for life or for death.

David feels satisfaction: he wants no more for salvation; he is delivered, and he is delighted. The covenant is all a man can desire.

Turn this day to the Lord Jesus, whom the great Lord has given to be a covenant to the people.

Bookmark and Share

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

